Never to be chained again

I sold my soul
For a new ego

I gave away my 61 Travelall and 69 Harley for $900
And bought an 85 Maxima on payments
And wore slacks to work

Reckless destruction ensued
Of all I held dear
I took a role behind the curtain
Made tiny by fear

I hid in the unseen
Of the mainstream

After a month
I sold the Maxima
And bought a 1977 Ford LTD
With faded paint and rust
I installed an electric fuel pump
And drove it around

Look at me
Defeated
Deflated
Adrift
Spiraling down
Broken chains flailing

One day
The false ego crumbled
The remnants of my soul awoke
And rose
Never to be chained again
Never to be chained again

© 2015 Martin H Wilde

Leave a Reply

