The One-Eyed Man


She did not come
As I’d hoped she would
As the evening hung
On the time and place I stood

The airport cried
With glazed and weary eyes
And all the girls I saw
Held up in the face of ice

She is not so different
From the girl that I once knew
She’s floating through horizons
Where the orange meets the blue

And she know the things I say
In the face of being blind
The blind search for the one-eyed man
Or whatever they can find

I am not going
Or coming around again
In these circles and marks
Layed down through my pen

The darkness hides the sorrow
It’s hung within my mind
The crime looks for the criminal
The one-eyed man looks for the crime

She is not so different
From the girl that I once knew
She’s floating through horizons
Where the orange meets the blue

And she know the things I say
In the face of being blind
The blind search for the one-eyed man
Or whatever they can find

© 2014 Martin H. Wilde

Leave a Reply

